WIP Wednesday


So much for my weekly check in…my last WIP Wednesday post was…hmmmm, let’s see…a little over a month ago! And my last post (that was not a reblog) was on Valentine’s Day. Woopsies. If it’s any consolation, I’ve been trying to concentrate on making the presentation for my PhD comprehensive exam coming up the first week of April (yes, that IS as much fun as it sounds!). Ok, what I’ve actually been doing is binge watching Veronica Mars before the movie comes out. But I’m making up for the lack of activity this week with this post, plus an author interview this Friday! (By the way, if you ever want to be featured on my blog, as a fellow blogger or author, let me know! I love having people on here. Just let me know on here, Facebook or email urge2write@gmail.com.) Now, on with this post.

The purpose of WIP (Work-In-Progress) Wednesdays is so I can set personal writing goals. It also serves as a way to let you all know what I’m working on. I hope you’ll join me and link back to your own or share in the comments! (A few of you have in the past–it’s awesome hearing from you, so thanks!)

To play, just fill in the following:

1. What are you currently writing?

2. Inspirations:

3. Plan for the upcoming week:

*****

1. What are you currently writing?

Despite my impending comprehensive exam and Veronica Mars obsession, I have done some work on Relapse. I have no idea how many words I’ve added to it because really what I’ve done is gutted/reordered what I’ve written so far, haha. Deleted some stuff that I was just like…”Nope!” I don’t know if any fellow authors reading this have ever done this, but I took chunks from here and there and stuck them together into what I think will be a better order in the long run…after I fix the flow, of course. It was weirdly fun. Relapse sits at a little over 26,000 words right now, and I have a feeling it’s going to be a long book…or at least longer than Reborn. But it’s going to be EPIC. (If you need a fix in the meantime and missed it, I posted a special excerpt for Valentine’s Day. Check it out here.)

2. Inspirations:

You know I’m not shy about venting my obsessions on here. Like I said, Veronica Mars is my current one. (Seriously, if you haven’t watched this show, do so, immediately. There are only/sadly three seasons. Tell them Shaina sent you?) This might sound strange, but I’ve also found this show to be very inspirational because I love the writing and the character development. This show leaves me with a lot of feels…feels I hope my readers have after reading Reborn, lol. If you don’t know anything about it, Veronica Mars was a show about a teen detective on the WB and later the CW in the early-ish 2000s. It has a “case of the week” kind of format with an overarching mystery to be solved throughout the season, as well as lots of juicy teen drama, complicated characters and steamy romance. I don’t know why, but I love writing about high school, and this show makes me want to go back to that for a while.

And yes, Neptune High has its very own brooding, complicated rich bad boy, Logan Echolls. Logan and Veronica are now one of my all-time favorite couples. (Also, the actor who plays Logan, Jason Dohring, has grown up nicely! He’s on the right in the second picture below. Although “young” Jason was 21 when he was on the show. I had to look it up, just to make sure…)

Speaking of bad boys, I’m pretty sure the following is the new theme song for Reborn:

3. Plan for the upcoming week:

Watch more Veronica Mars. And then watch the movie. Hey, it’s my spring “break.”

This entry was posted in Relapse, updates, WIP Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

