Checking Back in with Shannon A. Thompson


You may remember my interview back in August with author Shannon A. Thomspon, and I’m pleased to have her back to discuss her upcoming book, Seconds Before Sunrise, the sequel to Minutes Before Sunset. Check out her links below, followed by the interview and an excerpt from Seconds Before Sunrise!

MBSFinalCoverFind Seconds Before Sunrise on its Goodreads page and Minutes Before Sunset on Amazon.

***

SL: Tell us a little about Seconds Before Sunrise.

SAT: Book two begins one month after book one has ended. Eric has weeks left before his final battle when he loses his powers, and Jessica can’t remember anything – not quite anyway.

While the first book exposed the Dark, the second book revolves around what it is like to be a human in a paranormal world – though being human doesn’t prevent the thrill of action, the mystery of romance, and the occasional car wreck.

SL: What can fans of Minutes Before Sunset expect from the sequel?

SAT: Relationships of characters deepen, twists will happen around every turn, and not everyone will survive the finale.

SL: Where do you do most of your writing?

SAT: I write in many places, but I’ve currently done most of my writing in local places, like coffee shops and libraries.

SL: When do you do most of your writing? (Do you get up early to write? Stay up late?)

SAT: I am a complete night owl when it comes to writing, but I have been known to get up extra early – to the point where it is still considered nighttime – to write down a chapter or two.

SL: (I’m a night owl, too!) How did you conceive the idea for Minutes Before Sunset and Seconds Before Sunrise?

SAT: The trilogy is actually based off a series of dreams I had. When I was in high school, I was in a really dark place, and that’s when the dreams began, although they were so vivid that I often wondered if I was losing my mind. It started off with one boy visiting me, and The Timely Death Trilogy was born. Here’s an excerpt from one of my diaries: http://shannonathompson.com/2013/11/15/my-dream-goodreads-extras/

SL: Are there additional books planned for this series? (Any idea of release dates?)

SAT: Oh, yes! It’s a trilogy, so there are three novels total. Death Before Daylight is the last installment, and it will expose everything the Light has been hiding. At this time, I am actually releasing the first of a new series before the last book of the trilogy, but it shouldn’t be too long. They are already written.

SL: Lionsgate Films wants to turn your book into a movie. Which actors/actresses could you see playing your main characters?

SAT: I would beg, beg, BEG them to do an open-casting call, although I asked my fans this question, and they have said a young River Phoenix or Nicolas Hoult for Eric and Rumour Willis as Jessica.

SL: What book are you currently reading?

SAT: I’m reading a lot of traditional collections right now. “The World’s Greatest Love Letters” compiled by Michael Kelahan is on my desk. I have a soft spot for older writings (and romance.)

SL: If you could meet any person, living or deceased, who would it be and why?

SAT: I would choose someone down my family line that I didn’t even know existed. (Like who my great-great-great-great-great grandmother was.) I’m not sure what I would learn, but I’m guaranteed to learn about the world from a perspective that I cannot even imagine since I can’t imagine who they must have been, and that would just be an adventure to learn where I come from that far back.

SL: Who is your graphic designer?

SAT: Viola Estrella – she is lovely

SL: I love the cover for Seconds Before Sunrise. Can you tell us a little bit about it?Displaying SecondsBeforeSunrise-2_copy.jpg

SAT: The covers were actually created very carefully, and I had a very specific design that I wanted. Thankfully, Viola Estrella understood and created my vision beautifully. I have to explain the first cover to explain the second. The first novel is of Jessica in shade form – something I wanted since the novel doesn’t expose her for a long while – and she is blue because she is looking up at Eric during the scene of flight. Every shade has their own color signature, and blue is Eric’s.

The second book – like I said – is about being human, and this time I knew I wanted Eric on the front cover, mainly because he has never understood his human side. (Like how Jessica never knew of her supernatural side in the first book.) His eyes are green, but the cover shows them glowing with the background. This was done to show how his human side blurs with his supernatural side.

SL: Tell us about the handsome dark-haired boy on the cover. ;-)

SAT: I wish I could! But that is someone Viola would have to tell you about. I did get a change to speak with the model of Jessica on the cover of Minutes Before Sunset though. That was neat!

SL: Share a quote about writing or an inspirational quote that motivates you.

SAT: Honestly, I created a quote that inspires me to push myself forward. It is my mantra: Write with passion; succeed with self-discipline.

SL: Love that! Now, for an excerpt…

***

“Run.”

The sudden voice was barely audible. My heart was racing as fast as my legs were. I leapt over torn up brush and twisted past trees at speeds I couldn’t comprehend. The darkness blended together.

The ground was rigid beneath my feet, and I stumbled as I looked over my shoulder. They were after us. I could feel them, their heat and their strength. The suffocating air was filled with electricity, and it burned against my exposed flesh. As suddenly as it had touched me, it was around my neck.

Her black eyes were boundless, and I lost myself in them before she tossed my body. I flew over her shoulder, easily and helplessly, and collided with wet leaves. My limbs flayed, and I clawed at the ground, attempting to stop my momentum − but it was too late.

My head cracked against a rock, and the sound shuddered through my body. Light consumed my vision before it was replaced with blackness, and then I was awake again.

I saw his eyes first, crystal-blue but clouded with concern. When he met my gaze, he dropped the cold rag he had brushed across my face. The condensation awoke my consciousness.

I gasped, trying to sit up, but his hand pressed my shoulders down. My body reacted to his touch, and his fingers lingered as if he couldn’t let go.

He spoke, but I didn’t hear him, and time blurred like the night had moments before. He moved too quickly, and I couldn’t follow him. He was by the window, and my legs burned as if I’d stood moments before. But I was still in bed, and he spoke by the window.

I couldn’t hear him, but I knew what was happening. He was leaving, and he wouldn’t be back. He disappeared in a cloud of smoke, and I screamed.

***

Seconds Before Sunrise releases next week on March 22, 2014!

1185128_254947201296502_898182923_n

6 responses to “Checking Back in with Shannon A. Thompson

  1. Pingback: My Home Away From Home | Shannon A Thompson

  2. Pingback: Review: Seconds Before Sunrise by Shannon Thompson « justathirdculturekid

  3. Pingback: March Ketchup | Shannon A Thompson

Leave a Reply

